Reflections of a New Blogger

 

 

Encouraged by friends and those of a similar mind I was encouraged to start a blog which manifested itself in Enigma in Black. It’s been almost two weeks and I’m starting to form an opinion and perhaps developing a false sense of security. Here’s what I’ve learned:

 

  1. Ignore the Stats: Your blog host will provide you tons of information about your post. You can track each post by the number of views, likes and comments. You can identify views per day and peak hours. If immediate gratification is what you seek you can literally watch the response and measure it against your expectations. It will drive you crazy. The lesson learned is to simply do your best, people will like it or not and your audience will hopefully find you.
  2. Never sell a poet short: At least half of what I write is about politics. In my mind I’m writing about serious stuff and the fate of the world relies on the proper outcome. Much of what I write is long by nature and not for those with a short attention span. I am generating limited views and likes and very few comments despite what I perceive is the provocative nature of the material. Let me slip in a poem though and the blog erupts. Poets come from other galaxies to like and comment and follow your blog and ask you to follow theirs. I am coming to grips with the possibility that I too am a poet but I confess to being scared of these people. They’re relentless.
  3. I must be in a honeymoon period: So far I’ve generated not one negative response although I know I’m saying things someone disagrees with. I think the trolls have given me a grace period, waiting for me to drop my guard and then will attack. All I can say is, “Bring it!” I’m actually looking forward to “engaging” those with whom I disagree and you only disappoint me with your absence.
  4. Write for yourself: I’m writing a book on-line, “The History of American (White) Exceptionalism” and I’m not sure anyone is paying attention. By my outline I need to publish two chapters a week to finish before the election in November and I’m determined to finish on time before assembling what is essentially the first draft and making it a real book. Even if to paraphrase Billy the owner of First Avenue when talking to Prince, “nobody digs your writing but you”. I like my own writing enough to see it through. American Exceptionalism is white privilege on steroids and I’m making clear why.

I thank those who are following and will let you know when I have more thoughts.

 

William Spivey

Enigma in Black

Author: enigmainblackcom

William Spivey is a regular contributor to the Inner-City News where he writes about politics and popular culture. He also blogs as “Enigma in Black” where he explores poetry, religion, politics and all manner of things socially relevant. He is also a contributing Blogger at Together We Stand He is the founder of the Facebook pages Average Citizen Forum, Enigma in Black, and “Strong Beginnings,” the title of his soon to be released Political Fiction/Romance novel. William was the winner of a University-wide Essay Contest while at Fisk University titled, “The Value of a Liberal Arts Education. He holds a B.A. in Economics from Fisk and resides in Orlando, FL. His goal is to make his voice heard and make a difference.

3 thoughts on “Reflections of a New Blogger”

  1. You are so on point, I really agree I like it when there is a negative comment, “they read it”. I don’t want all yes men/women, I want a lively diverse conversation. My thought is not how many views etc. I get I just need to get it out , venting helps me so much.
    Keep up the great work.
    “Writing is it’s own reward” ~ Henry Miller

    Like

Leave a Reply

