My Prince Connection

 

 

I thought I was the biggest Prince fan ever. I found out I wasn’t even close. The last Prince concert I attended was at an arena in Tampa, FL. Because I was a member of the NPG Club I was able to purchase better seats and found myself on the floor about 10 rows back from the stage, surrounded by other NPG Club members who were able to buy seats there. These people, mostly white, stood for the entire show. Sang along to every song which they knew every word of. Now I knew all his hits. I had, “The Black Album” and “The Vault” which included some pretty obscure Prince songs. In a long set he played a couple songs I’d never heard before and those people didn’t flinch, they might have sung harder as if to prove they knew Prince better than I did. I got over it but knew there were bigger fans out there than me.

What can’t be taken from me is all the memories associated with his music and the connections with people underscored by his songs. Prince was a road trip from Tampa to Miami in the middle of the night thru Alligator Alley. Pitch black with only the headlights, 4:30 in the morning. Nobody sleeping because… Prince. Riding in the car with my youngest daughter, playing “Dirty Minds” at the highest volume, rocking out, causing other drivers to stare, and us not caring. The dance music; put your foot down on the two, jump up on the one, now you’re having fun. The introspection, the romance, the sex.

Did I mention we’re from the same town? Him North side me South. He was a few years younger and our paths seldom crossed. Once while his fame was still building I ran across him in a club, he appeared to want to be left alone and I did so. Another time in a restaurant, again no words were spoken. We have friends in common, I could have met him, but his music was enough for me. Fortunately, there is so much that remains that the loss will be bearable. I think. Miss you Prince

Author: enigmainblackcom

William Spivey is a regular contributor to the Inner-City News where he writes about politics and popular culture. He also blogs as “Enigma in Black” where he explores poetry, religion, politics and all manner of things socially relevant. He is also a contributing Blogger at Together We Stand He is the founder of the Facebook pages Average Citizen Forum, Enigma in Black, and “Strong Beginnings,” the title of his soon to be released Political Fiction/Romance novel. William was the winner of a University-wide Essay Contest while at Fisk University titled, “The Value of a Liberal Arts Education. He holds a B.A. in Economics from Fisk and resides in Orlando, FL. His goal is to make his voice heard and make a difference.

Leave a Reply

