I Bought a Book Today!

I bought a book today. Not at a bookstore where I paid my money and they put my book in a bag to take with me. Not thru Amazon or some other service where they ship my book to me within days of my purchase. I bought a book that hasn’t been written yet, and I’m glad I did.

I purchased a hard copy of the Being Black at School manual, I’ll also get a couple other things; an E-book, bumper sticker and training kit. But it was the book, that hasn’t been written yet, that makes me smile.

being black at school 2

The book will become, “a manual for parents and educators who want to see Black children thrive in the education system.” My children are grown. But they have children. Children that will enter a school system that marginalizes them. A system that disproportionately suspends and expels Black children. A system that must be navigated lest they literally fail.

I know the author in an Internet sort of way. I read her blog. I follow her on Facebook. Kelly Wickham Hurst, remember that name. She’s going places. But beyond what I’m convinced she’ll personally achieve. She’ll give all that she has to take our kids with her. In her recent past as an educator and administrator. She fed kids that had no breakfast. Now she wants to feed their minds. And provide this resource to parents and educators who want children to maximize their potential. Sidestepping the institutional pitfalls designed to trip them up.

being black at school 3

I bought a book today. I don’t know when it will arrive. It hasn’t been written yet. When it comes I’ll give it to one of my children, and order two more for the other two. A few more people are required to buy a book to make this happen. Do this, for someone’s child if not your own. Buy a book today!

 

http://beingblackatschool.com/projects/being-black-at-school/

 

Author: enigmainblackcom

William Spivey is a regular contributor to the Inner-City News where he writes about politics and popular culture. He also blogs as “Enigma in Black” where he explores poetry, religion, politics and all manner of things socially relevant. He is also a contributing Blogger at Together We Stand He is the founder of the Facebook pages Average Citizen Forum, Enigma in Black, and “Strong Beginnings,” the title of his soon to be released Political Fiction/Romance novel. William was the winner of a University-wide Essay Contest while at Fisk University titled, “The Value of a Liberal Arts Education. He holds a B.A. in Economics from Fisk and resides in Orlando, FL. His goal is to make his voice heard and make a difference.

One thought on “I Bought a Book Today!”

Leave a Reply

