Smiling Faces… Sometimes… Pretend To Be Your Friend

I posted this four years ago and as we enter a new election season it’s a good time to take a closer look as some who claim to be friends. You may have known them all your life, but they are telling you who they are. Believe them!

 

I have (had?) a friend that is a staunch Republican, gun enthusiast, right-wing conspiracy theorist and who spreads every negative “joke” about Obama no matter how insensitive without consideration of whether it crosses a line. You might wonder given my political leanings how we became friends. We worked together as managers of different sales groups within the same firm and when I started a company, he and his entire family worked for me part time over a period of about 15 years in Orlando and some of his family ran an operation for me in Richmond when they moved there. Although I was technically his employer for several years, there was trust, loyalty, and respect. His daughter and grandson stayed at my home when visiting Orlando and when he was once hospitalized in Orlando, I visited more than once.  Distance has taken its toll and I haven’t seen him in person for several years but we reconnected on Facebook and have engaged in multiple “debates” on political issues and while we each may be passionate about our opposing views, we were always agreeable while disagreeing.

Distance has taken its toll and I haven’t seen him in person for several years but we reconnected on Facebook and have engaged in multiple “debates” on political issues and while we each may be passionate about our opposing views, we were always agreeable while disagreeing. In a recent discussion, he said something which I interpreted to be pretty vile and long after that discussion was ended I was disturbed by his words. I’m allowing for the possibility that I misinterpreted what he said so I’m soliciting input and if anyone thinks I jumped to a wrong conclusion please let me know. Although out

In a recent discussion, he said something which I interpreted to be pretty vile and long after that discussion was ended I was disturbed by his words. I’m allowing for the possibility that I misinterpreted what he said so I’m soliciting input and if anyone thinks I jumped to a wrong conclusion please let me know. Although our discussion wasn’t about abortion, he injected his views about abortion which is what I found disturbing.I read the words over a few times and rather than have an open discussion on Facebook, I sent a private message and said this:

“Something you posted regarding abortion was a little unsettling to me and I wanted to check if my interpretation was sound before responding. Here’s what you posted: “ I actually believe there should be more abortion clinics and they should be government funded. They should be placed in areas of cities where poverty is the worst. This would help women and girls get abortions from an unwanted or unneeded pregnancy which could doom them to a future of further poverty or could infringe on their lifestyle. To take it one step further the government could give a monetary stipend to the female when an abortion is performed. Maybe $1,000 or so. This could give the female an opportunity to better herself, or just make the decision easier.”

The way I interpreted that was that the government should provide poor people incentives to have abortions because you’d like them to reduce breeding and dragging down the rest of the country. Please let me know if I’m wrong? Take care!

I waited two days (which has now become four years) and never received a reply. Somebody tell me I’m wrong in reading that my friend wants to encourage poor people, primarily minorities, to readily have abortions which he tries to pass off as compassion. I went to his page and really looked at his posts, most of which don’t appear in my feed and was shocked at what I saw. Among many other things, he shared an article about a murder committed by Black teenagers and in his comments stated, “They are raised like animals”. I truly wish he were a stranger because then he could be easily dismissed. I am rarely surprised and even less often disappointed by human behavior. This time, I am both. Tell me I’m wrong?

 

 

Author: enigmainblackcom

William Spivey is a regular contributor to the Inner-City News where he writes about politics and popular culture. He also blogs as “Enigma in Black” where he explores poetry, religion, politics and all manner of things socially relevant. He is also a contributing Blogger at Together We Stand He is the founder of the Facebook pages Average Citizen Forum, Enigma in Black, and “Strong Beginnings,” the title of his soon to be released Political Fiction/Romance novel. William was the winner of a University-wide Essay Contest while at Fisk University titled, “The Value of a Liberal Arts Education. He holds a B.A. in Economics from Fisk and resides in Orlando, FL. His goal is to make his voice heard and make a difference.

One thought on “Smiling Faces… Sometimes… Pretend To Be Your Friend”

Leave a Reply

