Reflections Of A New Blogger (Part Three)

 

 

This will be the last reflections on a new blogger post. Coming up on my 6-month anniversary, after 109 blog posts and 11,382 views. I’m declaring I am veteran enough that “new blogger” will no longer be how I define myself.

Since starting I’ve become a regular contributor to the Inner-City News and seen several of my posts reach print as well including one featured on the front page. I’ve written about politics, race, family, politics and race and whatever socially relevant issue inspired me. I wrote about Beyonce’s “Lemonade”. Reviewed a couple of films, and tried my hand at poetry. I even wrote a letter to God!

I wrote several chapters of what I intended to be a book on, “The History of American (White) Exceptionalism. I completed about 11 before changing tactics. I’m making a query to publishers based on a proposed book and hope to complete that book under contract. I learned quite a bit while researching each chapter and feel very strongly that by not knowing our past; we fail to recognize immediately the tactics used today to suppress votes or engrain privilege.

While writing the blog, I’ve also written a book, “Strong Beginnings” which is being read by Beta Readers for input prior to rewrites and editing. It begins with a lynching of two black couples in Covington, GA and follows the story of two families 50-years later. The female protagonist is the granddaughter of a witness to the lynching that was murdered for what he had seen. There’s politics, a look at the education system, international travel, and romance. I encourage you all to visit the related Facebook Page, Strong Beginnings: A Novel which I hope will keep you until the book release. Or you can wait for the movie.

I am thankful for those who are coming along for the ride. There are people I can count on for support and encouragement and I’m eternally grateful. The immediate feedback from blog posts is a rush, juxtaposed against the lengthy process bringing a book to market. I don’t know that I could do one without the other.

I’m tending at least during the current election season to focus more on politics in my blogs. On my blog Facebook page, Enigma In Black I’ve finally been discovered by trolls which actually excites me. I love a good argument with the fact-free which eventually devolves into mockery without my ever becoming uncivil. Dissecting a troll makes my day so if you’re a troll reading this. As long as you refrain from personal attacks you’re welcome to contest my views. I can be as wrong as the next person and won’t hesitate to admit a mistake. Bring logic and facts. Otherwise…

So I will Blog on. I have many opinions on many subjects and if there’s something you want my view on please suggest it. So thank you, bless you all. Namaste!

Author: enigmainblackcom

William Spivey is a regular contributor to the Inner-City News where he writes about politics and popular culture. He also blogs as “Enigma in Black” where he explores poetry, religion, politics and all manner of things socially relevant. He is also a contributing Blogger at Together We Stand He is the founder of the Facebook pages Average Citizen Forum, Enigma in Black, and “Strong Beginnings,” the title of his soon to be released Political Fiction/Romance novel. William was the winner of a University-wide Essay Contest while at Fisk University titled, “The Value of a Liberal Arts Education. He holds a B.A. in Economics from Fisk and resides in Orlando, FL. His goal is to make his voice heard and make a difference.

Leave a Reply

