Bernie or Bust People… You’re Being Ridiculous (Part Two)

Bernie or Bust People: You’re Being Ridiculous (Part Two)

 

I’ve mentioned previously that something has been disappointing to me since starting my blog. Nobody has really come after me for anything I’ve written. I’ve called out racists, misogynists, xenophobes and I hardly got a peep. I’ve received feedback from people who mostly agreed with me which was nice. But I wanted to hear from people with an opposing view. Then I wrote a piece called Bernie or Bust People… You’re Being Ridiculous , and along came Burt.

Burt went to my blog and cursed me up and down. He assured me he wasn’t my “indignant child acting out.” And that he was a “well educated and politically aware middle-aged man.” Even though he did misspell the word ballot throughout saying “ballet” instead. Burt raised every conspiracy theory as to how the election was stolen from Sanders. He also repeated almost every allegation ever about Hillary Clinton although he somehow missed the murder of Vince Foster. All this while cursing me throughout which his oft-mentioned education and intelligence must have told him would help make his point.

On my blog,I approve all replies and indeed I approved Burt’s response and replied to him as well. It occurred to me during my reply that “Bust” has an entirely meaning to me than Burt. And while Burt certainly doesn’t represent all of the Bernie or Bust people. He reminds me that he can afford to see no difference between Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump because in his world there is none.

During the early fight for women’s rights. Ida B Wells was attacked by some white leaders in the movement like Frances Willard. Ms. Wells was criticized for speaking out against lynching which Willard viewed as a distraction. Both women strongly believed in much of the same cause. One because of her privilege; was unconcerned about the needs of the other. Burt cares little about what “Bust” means. Because to him little changes.

If Burt were black. He’d realize that “Bust” meant unconditional support of the police. Even when they do wrong. He’d understand that it meant flooding urban areas with additional police to keep their foot on the neck of black citizens under the auspices of “Law & Order.” He’d know that their communities would be viewed as war zones and that their lives did not matter. He’d be concerned about being subjected to “Stop and Frisk.”

If Burt was a woman. He’d be aware of the misogyny of the new leader. He’d know that women should be “punished” for choosing to have an abortion and that body shaming would be elevated to the highest office in the land.

Were Burt Muslim… or Hispanic. He’d be concerned about racial profiling. He’d worry about a second-hand status and having to carry papers or have their houses of worship bugged and infiltrated. He’d worry about families being torn apart or unable to unite due to an unconstitutional interpretation of immigration law.

Burt need not worry about these things because “Bust” to him would look much like the status quo. He could come and go as he pleases. His community will not be militarized. His house of worship would remain  a place of refuge. Even his vulgar language would fit in with the new administration.

So Bernie or Bust people. When I say you’re being ridiculous. I don’t intend to shame you or insult your intelligence. I encourage you to think hard about what “Bust” looks like? Not only to you but to the others who protested and organized and voted alongside you. If “Bust” looks okay to you, consider what it means to others? Don’t ignore the real differences between the remaining choices whatever your reasoning. One may not be your preference which is understandable. The other is a clear and present danger to our future as a nation. Thank you for your consideration.

Author: enigmainblackcom

William Spivey is a regular contributor to the Inner-City News where he writes about politics and popular culture. He also blogs as “Enigma in Black” where he explores poetry, religion, politics and all manner of things socially relevant. He is also a contributing Blogger at Together We Stand He is the founder of the Facebook pages Average Citizen Forum, Enigma in Black, and “Strong Beginnings,” the title of his soon to be released Political Fiction/Romance novel. William was the winner of a University-wide Essay Contest while at Fisk University titled, “The Value of a Liberal Arts Education. He holds a B.A. in Economics from Fisk and resides in Orlando, FL. His goal is to make his voice heard and make a difference.

Leave a Reply

