What To Do When You Make A Blog Post You Want To Take Back? (Re: Jim Brown: Whatcha Gonna Do?)

I Met A Troll Today

What do you do when you make a blog post you want to take back? I recently posted Jim Brown: Whatcha Gonna Do?  in which I defended Jim Brown meeting with President-Elect Donald Trump. I suggested engagement is better than denial and pointed to Jim Brown’s history on the front lines fighting for racial justice. There was another history that as a male, I had the luxury of forgetting. Jim Brown has a rather lengthy record of assault and some rape charges against women. He admits to putting his hands on women in his autobiography and after he said it was “something that there is no excuse for and never should have happened.” He did it again.

A friend referred to Jim Brown’s history with women in a comment on my blog so I researched it. I’m embarrassed to say that I remembered two of the incidents which as I said before. I had the luxury to forget. Perhaps as a male, a former college athlete, I tended to ignore stories of men behaving badly towards women because I could. The women I conversed with regarding Jim Brown’s history remembered clearly. I am reminded that as “woke” as I imagine I am in this area. I still have a ways to go.

Donald Trump has an apparent affinity for surrounding himself with men who have abused women. Maybe they compare notes on grabbing women in the p***y? Trump, Bannon and others in his inner circle have treated women like dirt and they don’t seem to care. Because they don’t… we must.  So, while I do think engagement with the soon to be President is preferable to ignoring the most powerful man in the world (it really sucks saying that). Jim Brown is not the one.

So, what to do? I could take down the blog post and act like it didn’t happen? I could edit it and change the whole focus. Or I could say I got more information and changed my mind which is what I’m doing. I’ve been semi-trolling another blogger. A Trump supporter who passes along a lot of fake news and false equivalencies. We engage in friendly dialog and I encourage him to do better. He said he “takes responsibility for his own words but not those of others on his blog.” I disagreed. In my attempt to “do better.” I offer a mea culpa… my bad!

Author: enigmainblackcom

William Spivey is a regular contributor to the Inner-City News where he writes about politics and popular culture. He also blogs as “Enigma in Black” where he explores poetry, religion, politics and all manner of things socially relevant. He is also a contributing Blogger at Together We Stand He is the founder of the Facebook pages Average Citizen Forum, Enigma in Black, and “Strong Beginnings,” the title of his soon to be released Political Fiction/Romance novel. William was the winner of a University-wide Essay Contest while at Fisk University titled, “The Value of a Liberal Arts Education. He holds a B.A. in Economics from Fisk and resides in Orlando, FL. His goal is to make his voice heard and make a difference.

4 thoughts on “What To Do When You Make A Blog Post You Want To Take Back? (Re: Jim Brown: Whatcha Gonna Do?)”

Leave a Reply

